-2 / +2

There’s a hurricane on the way, or so they’ve said.  It’s currently 24 hours after the rain was supposed to arrive, and it’s barely windy out there.  Though there are a lot of sirens screaming by.  We are one block from the mandatory evacuation zone, so we’ve prepared for the worst, and are enjoying a cozy day working from home on the couch.

So I didn’t make it the 21 days of yoga.  I’m slightly disappointed, but I’m going to add two days onto the end and, well, get over it.  I made it 16 days.  Saturday we woke up at 5:30am to head up to Hudson Highlands State Park for an 8 mile hike.  There was a lot of cloud cover, so while the scenery was beautiful, it was not very photogenic.  The fall foliage was gorgeous though.

The  hike took 5 hours.  That is 5 hours with very little rest, with lots of inclines and descents.  Every time we appeared to be approaching the end, a switchback brought us straight back up the mountain again.  About 3.5 hours in, my right knee started complaining – the IT Band (iliotibial band) syndrome that has been bothering me on and off for a few years was acting up again.  Not very surprising given that I’ve been on a running break for the last month, so my knees weren’t used to the impact.  And there was a LOT of impact on those down hills.  By the time I was home around 11pm, I could think of nothing else except collapsing in bed.  As my head hit the pillow I realized I had done not even one short child’s pose that day.  But my knee hurt and I was sleepy.

Sunday was spent helping my parents prep their waterfront home for Sandy Frankenstorm, and then back in Brooklyn stocking up on whatever we might need in case we lose power and are stuck in the apartment for the next few days.  Knee still hurt a bit, and as my wrist isn’t getting any better, I took that day off as well.

So now it is Monday, Day 19 for the rest of the challenge (that is going great, despite being stuck inside all day craving Halloween candy).  I will do some yoga for the next 3 days, and I will do it Thursday & Friday as well.  21 days of yoga over 23 days will do just fine thank you very much.

Regarding the wrist-pain-that-won’t-go-away, it’s not hurting at all now when I’m not using it (I guess that counts as improvement), but there is still a lot of pain when I put any pressure on it.  I realize that while I’ve been resting it, I’ve been doing little else to help – so there is ice on it as I type this (and on my knee too!), and I will continue to ice twice a day until it is as good as new.

The rest of the afternoon will be spent cooking acorn squash, sweet potatoes, zucchini, tofu, beans & quinoa – just in case we lose power.

Happy Hurricane!

Leave a Reply

