5 Part Challenge

Day 14!

Things are…going.  There are actually a few other pieces to this challenge, and while the yoga has been, well, challenging, everything else is going really well!  Let me explain.  I decided that for 21 days I would…

  1. Do yoga everyday – in any way for any amount of time.
  2. No fried food.  This isn’t really a challenge – I eat so little fried food as it is.  But I will sometimes eat the occasional handful of fries or a random potato chip from a generous friend’s bag.  I really never need it and never actually crave it so why not eliminate?
  3. No meat.  I actually don’t eat all that much meat these days anyway.  I used to be a huge carnivore, and while I do still need a big juicy burger once in a while, I’ve been eating less and less of it over the last 5 years.  I’ve become a lot more discerning about the source of my meat, and have tried to eat as many meatless meals as possible.  Including this in the challenge is really more about encouraging myself to eat DIFFERENT protein sources than I normally do.  I’ve been in a tofu rut for the last year or so, and while that obviously is allowed under this rule, the added challenge has encouraged me to do some new things.  I made a huge pot of beans from scratch, something I’ve meant to do for a long time.  I don’t know why soaking the beans overnight always seemed like such a big deal.  It’s really not.  And man were they good.  I’ve also been having quinoa as the protein in a lot of meals because it is, and we really don’t need more than that.

 

The only time the no meat rule became really difficult, when I seriously considered just digging right in to a poached lamb saddle (um what?) was this past week at the TOP CHEF KITCHEN (!!!). http://www.topchefkitchennyc.com/

 

 

One cannot just opt out of an opportunity to eat at the Top Chef Kitchen.  Chef’s Mike Isabella and Edward Lee prepared two Prix Fixe menus.  You could choose to follow one chef’s menu for all four courses, or pick and choose from both.  I chose the Crudo of Blue Point Oysters with candied sweet potatoes, spiced pecans and dashi over the Fried Chicken Salad for the first course.  While I’m not a picky eater at all, I’ve never had an oyster before.  Something about them being grey has always freaked me out a bit. I went the swallow whole route, vs. the apparently more sophisticated chew-to-get-the-full-flavor route (http://www.vanityfair.com/online/daily/2009/02/the-right-way-to-eat-a-raw-oyster).  They were fine.

 

 

But the second course.  PEOPLE.  These Crispy Gnocchi with butternut squash and crispy sage were out. of. this. world.  They were supposed to come with pork belly, but the chefs were happy to serve vegetarian.  If only there were more than 2 bites of them!  (Note: we did request seconds of the second course.  We were denied.  Le sigh.)

 

 

The options for the last course were Olive Oil-Poached Smoked Lamb Saddle or Tamarind Pork Breast.  However!  The chefs prepared an off menu roasted vegetable, pureed sunchoke and edamame hummus that was fantastic, and perfectly meat free.

 

I did however skip dessert.  There was no ifs ands or buts about it. Because…

4. No added sugar.  This is the part that I was sure would be the hardest, but has turned out to be not so bad.  I typically need (not want) both lunch AND dinner dessert.  Pretty much every day.  A huge bag of apples on my kitchen counter has had to fill the void though, and man, have I eaten a LOT of apples.  So last night I was checking out at the drug store and come across these.

 

 

Oh man. These definitely do not qualify as “real food,” but holiday candy just gets me every time.  Halloween candy corn (+ candy pumpkins!), and Easter Cadbury mini eggs (in the purple bag!) are my two very favorite candies.  I just can’t help myself, and see no reason not to.  But I CAN wait.  Into the cupboard these go until November 1st.

 

5. No alcohol.  Boring, but absolutely doable.

 

So overall, so far so good.  The wrist pain is still present, but not getting worse.  I probably would continue to go to class everyday with modifications if it wasn’t for a very slight pain in my left knee while walking down stairs.  My wrist I can live without, my knees I cannot.  Restful yoga-at-home it is until I’m feeling 100%!

One Response to 5 Part Challenge

  1. […] now it is Monday, Day 19 for the rest of the challenge (that is going great, despite being stuck inside all day craving Halloween candy).  I will do some […]

Leave a Reply

