Last night’s post? And Quinoa Flake Pancakes!!

I just signed on this morning and it appears I did not post my dinner post last night?  I could have sworn I did.  Ooops!  Here’s a quick recap of post-lunch yesterday.

I “worked” under the umbrella in the backyard until about 5, and then had a yummy snack of 2% cottage cheese, a sliced banana & 5 grapes.  It was good and looked like this:

Picture 001

Twas good.

Dinner was outside on the deck under the umbrella again, and it involved this huge plate of meat:

Picture 002

DELICIOUS juicy grilled pork chops!  Mmmmmmm

Here was my plate:

Picture 007

With some brussels & carrots.  I would be proud to say I finished that chop, but I didn’t.  I left about a third of it behind…

With a side sally:

Picture 005

Anddd these beauts came to visit in the canal!

Picture 008

Picture 009

Dessert was .8 ounces TJ’s 72% dark..and then dessert #2 was 2 Flying Dog Road Dog porters 🙂  Both were equally delicious!

Anddd on to this morning.  A DELICIOUS new breakfast!!

I found these Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes in my kitchen (thanks Mom!), and decided to make a pancake a la Cait & Kelly’s pancakes this week that looked delish.

Picture 011

Picture 012

Picture 015

The mix for one big pancake included:

Dry:
1/4 c. Quinoa Flakes
1/8 c. Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 Tbsp Ground Flax
1/3 Tsp baking powder
dash salt
Tsp cinnamon
2 Tsp brown sugar

Wet:
1/4 c. Almond Breeze
2 Tbsp egg whites
Tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 c. water

I mixed together all the dry ingredients in a bowl:

Picture 013

And then slowly added the wet ingredients one at a time.  I hadn’t planned on the water, but the batter was a little sticky, so I added it.  Into a pam-ed nonstick skillet it went:

Picture 016

And came out golden and fluffy!

Picture 017

Perfection topped with a sliced banana and 2 tsp pure maple syrup:

Picture 018

Overall I think the quinoa flakes were a very interesting addition to the pancake.  You could definitely taste the quinoa flavor, but it was good!  And quite a fantastic way to pack in some early morning protein if you ask me!

Anddd now I have tons of work to catch up on after this marathon post.  Have a good day!

One Response to Last night’s post? And Quinoa Flake Pancakes!!

  1. georgiegurl says:

    i tried your pancakes and they were great! i did one egg instead of the egg whites and threw in some frozen blueberries. my 12 month old LOVED it and so did i! i’m saving the recipe for later!

Leave a Reply

