Bitter Berries

One of my absolute favorite oatmeal mix-ins is frozen berries.  I always buy the TJ’s Berry Medley (not the Fancy Berry Medley — this for some reason has fewer types of berries but costs more $$…does anyone know why??).  They’re soo good if you defrost them a bit to room temp, they mix into the oatmeal so well and sweeten the whole bowl.

Unfortunately, that didn’t work so well this morning.  I was all out of the TJ’s berries, so I used some Dole Frozen Berries I found in the freezer.  I don’t know WHAT was going on with these berries.  Instead of delicious sweetness, they were bitter.  Not delicious.  Alas, they were already mixed into my oats, so there they stayed, but I had to add half a smashed banana for some sweetness.  It did the trick!

Picture 001

I also mixed half a cup of 2% cottage cheese in there, topped with a Tbsp flax, a Tbsp coconut & 3 sliced baby strawberries from the garden!  Coconut always makes me feel festive 🙂

Anddd on a completely different note, does anyone watch Regis & Kelly??  Since I’ve been working from home the past few weeks I’ve been watching everyday, and can I just say I LOVE Kelly Ripa.  I think she is just the funniest lady ever.  She says she runs in Central Park, but I’m guessing it’s not between 5:30-7:30pm because I definitely would have seen her at some point this past year.  Once I’m back in my running shoes I’m definitely going to keep an eye out on that trail!  And probably yell her name and jump up and down if I see her.  Scary?  Probably.  Sorry in advance, Kelly Ripa.

OK, that’s enough stalker talk for the morning — back to work!

Leave a Reply

