Pizza Day

Gooooood afternoon!

I’ve been craving some pizza since I saw Kath’s tasty looking pie last night, so lunch today was an easy peasy choice.  Unfortunately homemade whole wheat pizza dough didn’t fit into my schedule today (although I do plan to try it soon!), so I grabbed a “kid’s size” FlatOut wrap, topped it with lots of goodies & threw it in the oven for 15 minutes.  So melty!!

Picture 007
On top of there we had a Tbsp tomato paste mixed with S & P, oregano & garlic powder, LOTS of sauteed spinach, a crumbled Sargento reduced fat Colby Jack cheese stick, a Tbsp shredded parm & some sauteed portobellas. 

There was something a little off about it, though.  Don’t get me wrong, overall, YUM.  But I’m really not so sure how I feel about these Flat Out wraps.  They have a definite chemical after-taste to them.  It probably has something to do with one of these.  That’s quite a long ingredient list! While I know it’s not a perfect system, it’s generally a good rule of thumb that when choosing processed foods, to choose the ones with as few ingredients as possible!  I definitely would have traded double the calories for double the flavor in this case. (And..um…in almost all other cases as well!)

Picture 004

I paired that with 1/4 of an avocado that really needed to be eaten & a chopped peach.  This peach was seriously disappointing.  Part of the inside was rotten, but then the rest of it wasn’t nearly ripe!  Bleh!

So I followed this plate up with this little guy straight from the garden:

Picture 008

And his extra-juicy little brother:

Picture 009

I love this little guy!  So cute!  Well…not so cute anymore in my belly 🙂

Does anyone have any delicious tasting, nutritionally sound “flat-out-like” bread they use for easy pizza??

2 Responses to Pizza Day

  1. misstiffie says:

    Cute strawberries :]

    Sometimes I use just whole grain bread to make mini pizzas!!!

  2. papayafish says:

    Aren’t they adorable?? Of course it would be nice if they’d go ahead and get bigger, so that I could eat more of them…but I do love them this way 🙂

    I’m always worried the bread slices would get super soggy with the tomato sauce on it..maybe I’ll try an end piece of a loaf though!

Leave a Reply

