Not quite ready to go back to work

Sorry for not posting at all yesterday!  I decided to try to go back to work yesterday after being out since last Tuesday’s car accident.  They told me to take as much time as I needed, but I felt responsible to get back as soon as I could.  Unfortunately, it took a lot out of me, much more than I thought it would.  I have an hour and a half commute to work – drive 10 min to train station, hour train ride to the city, and then a 20 min walk to the office.  I obviously needed a ride to the train, and then had to take the subway instead of walking.  I’ve always tried to walk instead of taking the subway, it saves $$ and burns calories and is better for the environment. Win win win decision!  Oh well – on crutches the subway wins.

The NYC Subway system does NOT cater to disabled people!  I can’t imagine what it is like to be a permanently disabled person in Manhattan.  Most of the stations do NOT have elevators or escalators.  And when I asked if the stop for my office had an elevator, they told me it didn’t, but the one before it did.  I decided I’d rather take the elevator and walk 5 blocks on my crutches instead of getting off at my usual stop and getting up 3 flights of stairs on my crutches.  But when I got off at that stop, I found out it only had an elevator in the opposite direction!  If only I had been headed downtown.  Ugh.  SO I got back on the subway, rode one more stop, and somehow made it up to my office.  Ten minutes later I talked to my boss about working from home…commuting right now was just not going to work.

Soo, I’ll be working from home for the next 3 weeks!

But hold on, let’s back up to yesterday’s eats.  I was SUPER busy all day after missing 7 straight days of work, so there was no time to post, but I did manage to photograph everything I ate.

I usually eat breakfast at the office, but I need to eat with my pain medicine, and I needed to take my pain medicine before I left home, so I ate before I left.  I decided to try overnight oats for the first time (to make my morning easier), and I followed Kath’s lead and added yogurt, milk & oats.  I had tried making this a last week with just yogurt and oats, and it was inedible (not that I had a choice – it was in the car for the crash and ended up all over the inside of my purse! but I tried it before I packed it).

I also added some water to better prevent against it being too sticky, along with some slivered almonds and about a Tbsp of shredded coconut.

478

I added 1/2 a sliced banana and 1/2 an over-ripe white nectarine, and when it wasn’t sweet enough, I added about a Tbsp maple syrup.  Does anyone eat this cold??  I’ve never noticed anyone mentioning heating up their overnight oats (this does not mean they didn’t mention it..I might have no been paying attention), but I couldn’t do it cold.  It went into the microwave for 2 minutes.

This was good, but I’m not sure I’m a huge fan of the overnight oats.  They had a very “doughy” quality, and I sort of felt like I was eating oatmeal cookie dough. IE, good for a bite, heavy for a whole bowl.  I think I’ll try to stick to making a big batch of oatmeal on Sunday, and heating up just a single serving each day.  Takes the same amount of time in the morning!

Since I ate breakfast at 7 instead of the usual 9am, I thought I’d be starving by noon.  Strangely though, I wasn’t hungry at all until 2pm.  I think I haven’t been eating because of hunger at home, just out of pure boredom, so being in the office really busy, I didn’t get bored.  It felt good to actually be hungry when I ate this YUM sandwich from my favorite take-out in the city!

479
Light tuna salad on cranberry bread!  This 1/2 a sandwich was HUGE so it definitely hit the spot!  This comes from Between the Bread, if you’re ever on 55th btwn 6th & 7th in Manhattan, EAT THERE!  They also do catering!

After lunch someone put this on my desk:

480

And I didn’t complain!  But halfway through my tummy started to ache, so I threw the rest out.  So yummy though!

I was in meetings at my client all afternoon, and at 5 had to head back to the office to get everything together since I wouldn’t be returning for at least the next 3 weeks.  I didn’t finish until 8!  My boss gave me a car slip and told me she didn’t want me to take the train home, so at 8pm I called the car service and they picked me up right downstairs and took me straight to my front door! I love that car service.  I sometimes get quite carsick in the back of those town cars, but I made it home OK this time.

When I got home I realized it was after 9pm and I hadn’t eaten since 2.  I think that’s the longest I’ve gone without eating in years!  I had this yummy plate:

481
About 3/4 of a cup of my leftover Thai spicy basil rice, with 2 pieces of tofu. 1/2 a roasted potato and brocc!  Very filling & delish.

I brought home with me today a huge pile of BELGIAN CHOCOLATE that my Belgian co-worker’s family brought over the big lake.  It was waiting for me on my desk this morning!  Have you ever seen a more delicious looking pile??

482

I’m hoping this lasts a long, long time. Much longer than the M&Ms last week!

I had one piece, and then another smaller one:

483484

: )

Got up at 8:30 to make sure I was signed on to work by 9am.  Gotta prove I’m actually working from home! (aside from this insanely long blog post in the middle of the work day…oops).  It’s super hot today (FINALLY summer), and we don’t use AC here until absolutely necessary, so I opted out of hot oatmeal, and instead had this yummy bowl:

488

-1/2 c. cottage cheese
-1/2 c. Honey Crunch Oats w. almonds
-sliced naner
-1/4 c. frozen berries
-Tbsp ground flax

While I was mixing, I chopped up all the frozen berries so the juices all mixed in.  It was the perfect cold & tasty breakfast!

Now I’m watching daytime TV (I ❤ regis & kelly) and doing my work from the couch!  I’ll let ya’ll know later how it goes.

Have a great day!

2 Responses to Not quite ready to go back to work

  1. caitsplate says:

    I wish people would leave cupcakes on MY desk at work!! Haha.

    Love the site – keep it up! 🙂

  2. Emily says:

    Yuck, that is so frustrating about the subway, I’m glad you and your boss could work something out.

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

