Boredom Eating

It’s been a long time since I’ve eaten just because I was bored.  I pride myself on eating to fuel my body, and not just to have something to do.  However, the empty M&Ms container from my care package (don’t worry, it wasn’t ALL me, but I did more than my fare share), and last nights dinner, are not great examples of my usually healthful habits.  My family went to a BBQ yesterday, that I obviously could not attend with my club-for-a-leg.  They brought home a plate of the most delicious barbeque food.  I have been craving pulled pork for months, and my mom said that when she saw they had a slow cooker, she couldn’t turn down bringing me some.  The pork came home with some friends:

479
I have to admit, I ate most of what is on this plate.  The pasta and sausage were gone, the taco salad, and half of the potato salad, too.  I ate all of the DELICIOUS pork out of that sandwich, and left behind the bun (bleh) and the two chicken wings.  I do love chicken wings, but I wasn’t really feeling them last night.  Aside from the pork, everything else was just OK.  Probably not worth it, but oh well.

482
A few hours later I decided to get my frozen banana pieces out of the freezer and try the banana “ice cream” I read about on KERF, that she learned about from Gena. I threw one banana in the food processor with about a tsp vanilla extract, and topped that with a Tbsp TJ’s Almond Butter.  Not too shabby!

Not sure if I didn’t process it long enough, or if I processed it too long, but it didn’t quite have the consistency of ice cream.  It of course did taste exactly like banana, so I’m not going to fool anyone into thinking they’re eating vanilla ice cream, but man was that some good frozen banana!  I’ll definitely try it again.

Woke up this morning to a lot more pain : /  BUT I got over it pretty quick when Mom told me she was making me THESE for breakfast!  Holy moly these were some good whole wheat pumpkin pancakes!  I had some canned pumpkin left over from my pumpkin/acorn squash combo from last week, so we needed to use up the rest of it.  I emailed mom this recipe since I can’t cook for myself very easily these days..

488
Yumyumyum.  I layered 2 pancakes with a sliced banana and 1/4 cup 2% Fage mixed with cinnamon and a tsp brown sugar (shown below).  I then drizzled a little real maple syrup over the top and sprinkled with some more cinnamon. SO GOOD. It was like eating pumpkin cake for breakfast.  I’ve never had pumpkin cake, but I imagine this is what it would be like.  I definitely recommend trying these!

485
This is the yogurt mixture, pre-mixing.

I’m off to LAY IN THE BACKYARD AND READ! First time venturing outside the four walls of this house since Wednesday. Woohoo!

Have a great day out there!

Leave a Reply

