Slow cooked vs Quick Cook?

When I eat oatmeal, it is usually Steel Cut Oats, that take 30-45 minutes to cook on the stove top.  I make a big batch on Sunday and then take a portion each morning to work for breakfast.  Lately they’ve been GREEN, but the concept is still the same.  Now that I’m not doing any cooking for myself, I can’t ask my mom to stand over the stove for 45 minutes to make me my oatmeal, so she picked up these quick-cooking Irish oats.  They still say they’re the whole grain (as opposed to rolled oats that do not include the bran or the germ), but they cook in 3-5 minutes.  I’m still a little skeptical about their nutritional value vs. slow cooked steel cut oats.  If they CAN be cooked so much faster without losing any nutritional value, why on earth would they still make them the slow-cook way? I’m going to have to look further into this today to learn more.  Do you know the difference?

I had a 1/2 c. (dry) serving cooked in 1 c. water, with 1/2 c. 1% milk, cinnamon, a large sliced banana & a Tbsp of TJ’s natural PB

481
After the pic was taken I mixed it up, took a bite, and decided it needed more sweetness.  So I added a tsp brown sugar AND a tsp honey.  I couldn’t make up my mind, and I’m glad, cause it was GOOD

482

My little apple babies are growing up!  I was really confused when the seeds started shooting up out of the soil.  I don’t have much experience with growing things, but I would have thought the seeds stayed in the dirt!  But I think they’re doing what they should.  (Mental Note  – use the world wide web to learn about apple plants today!)…(I guess it’s not a mental note if I write it down, is it?)

433

I think I’m all done with my paper work for the time being, so I’m off to finish reading Pygmy, by Chuck Palahniuk, so I can hurry up and start IN DEFENSE OF FOOD, by Michael Pollan.  I have always really liked Chuck’s books, but I’m sorry, this one is just terrible.  And regardless of what the Sunk Cost Theory says, I consider it a waste of money if I don’t finish it.  I absolutely LOVED The Omnivore’s Dilemma, so I’m really looking forward to this next Pollan gem.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

